Coconut Nutella Cupcakes

Nutella, coconut, and chocolate.  All amazing by themselves.  Even more amazing when they are combined.  And when I say combined I mean in a cupcake.  This is a recipe that was posted by Your Cup of Cake earlier this week.  This is a blog I love to follow but the first recipe I have made from it.  And after this one, it definitely won’t be the last.  She is so creative and her recipes are so easy.  Every time I see a new one I say to myself, “Why didn’t I think of that?!”  Actually, I think that every time I see a great recipe on a blog.  I need to work on creating more original desserts.

This recipe starts with a box cake mix but is enhanced with sour cream, milk, and vanilla extract.  And you sift the cake mix first.  I have never done this before and what a difference it makes!  It starts with a chocolate cupcake topped with chocolate Nutella ganache.  Once that is set, you top it off with a coconut cream cheese frosting and garnish with shredded coconut.  You can find the recipe for the Nutella Coconut Cupcakes here.

This is no doubt one of the best cupcakes I have ever had.  And I love that the base is made with a cake mix but easily enhanced to greatness.  Yes, to greatness because it is that good.

My in-laws had us over for dinner so I brought them for dessert.  They got rave reviews and was told they taste like a Mounds candy bar.  You can’t go wrong with that.  Then my parents had us over for lunch the next day so I brought the other half.  I am happy to say they were a hit there as well!  Thanks Lizzy from Your Cup of Cake! 🙂

One thought on “Coconut Nutella Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Cupcakes | I Need to Bake

Leave a comment